Letting Go of Sin

DAY 9

LEVITICUS 16:20-22

What is a scapegoat? Today we refer someone we put the blame on as this term. Maybe someone we think of as a sucker or pushover? But maybe perhaps we don’t give enough credit to this person. The weight they carry can be intense.

The origin of this term, I have learned today, can be found in this passage!

scapegoat

Aaron was instructed to place his hands on the goats head and repent for his personal sins and the sins of the his people. Once completed, a man specifically chosen for the task would lead the goat out of the town and send it into the wilderness.

I put my hand on a stuffed cat I have here at the house, and I put my sins on that cat. And then I put the cat back on the shelf and walked out of the room. And do you know how I felt?

Relieved.

Enjoying the sun

Being able to walk away from my sins like they are some animate object is amazing. This is definitely not something I would physically practice everyday. Kind of weird…HOWEVER perhaps praying in one room then getting up and walking into another might give you the same feeling of leaving your sins behind.

On a side note, can I just say how frustrating the internet is. I do a simple Google search for an image to use in my blog and am forced to see things of an inappropriate nature. This didn’t happen specifically today, but it has been on my mind. At the rate our society is falling, I am terrified to bring children into this world. It is a sad and dangerous place.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QASREBVDsLk

The Message//Remix: Solo by Eugene H. Peterson

The Message//Remix: Solo by Eugene H. Peterson

2 responses to “Letting Go of Sin

  1. I worry to death about putting my kids in school. I got them here, but school influences are freaking me out. May have to go back to work to put them in a private school…. :-/

  2. I’m going to school to be a high school English teacher, so they should be good if they have me! But I completely understand. I have thought about home schooling our (future) children. You have to work harder to get them socialized though.

Leave a Reply

