A Picture of Forgiveness

DAY 3

GENESIS 50:15-21

This is a story of Joseph forgiving his brothers for their wrongdoing against him. They find him, seeing that he is doing well in life, and beg for forgiveness.

jospeh

God has used Joseph’s brothers’ evil plans for good. Isn’t it amazing how he does that?! You think that whatever is happening to you is so terrible, then you reach the other side and realize the good that has come from it.

My specific example: getting pregnant at 17 years old. I was a junior in high school and things with the father were not going to work out. I was so upset with everything that was happening and thought my whole life was over. Long story short, I gave him up for adoption. His name is Luke. It is semi-open and I get pictures and letters several times throughout the year. He will be 8 years old this July, and even though he is not an active part of my life, I couldn’t imagine who I would be if it hadn’t been for that entire situation.

luke

Isn’t he so cute!! I did good. :)

luke2

That was the first time in my life when I truly felt that God had a plan. I was able to complete a family that could not have children of their own. God used the evil of my wrongdoings for good.

Forgiveness

Where would we be without it? Nowhere good, that’s for sure. It is amazing to know that God can forgive us if we only ask. And in our relationships during our lifetimes we are both the forgiver and the forgiven. It’s one of those things you have to practice at. Forgiving someone who has wronged you takes humility and rational thinking. Those are about as rare as common sense. And asking for forgiveness? Talk about a big slice of humble pie. You have to admit you were wrong! Who wants to do that? But the weight that can be lifted off your shoulders when you have asked and it is given is unreal.

CoupleFight

Anytime my husband and I argue (which never happens, right? ;)) there is tension between us until we have both acknowledged that we were wrong in some way and forgiven each other. Then, there is peace.

TODAY I will not be afraid to ask for forgiveness when I have done something wrong.

The Message//Remix: Solo by Eugene H. Peterson

The Message//Remix: Solo by Eugene H. Peterson

 

One response to “A Picture of Forgiveness

  1. Wow! I did not know that about you but that is awesome how God worked even through the tough stuff? And he is a handsome young boy!
    Forgiveness is tough all the way around! Asking for it, seeking it, and even learning to forgive yourself. But when we do, it’s like a weight lifted off our shoulders! Good blog! I enjoyed this!

Leave a Reply

