Wrestling In The Night

DAY 2

GENESIS 32:22-32

This is the story of Jacob wrestling with a man and winning. Some believe the man was an angel, but we don’t really know for sure. It’s actually a pretty good story!

o-GENESIS-32-4-36-43-facebook

You see, what had happened was Jacob ran into this guy. It doesn’t even really explain what led to the altercation, but they started wrestling. Testosterone, I guess. So the man knocks Jacob’s hip out of socket, but he STILL wins. What a warrior! The ultimate purpose was that Jacob wanted to be blessed.

[Fun Fact: Israelites do not eat meat from the hip of an animal because of Jacob’s injury.]

In all of Genesis 32 we see Jacob both wanting to be blessed and wanting to know God more. What is so funny is in 2009 (when I first went through this book) I checked the box that said the part the resonated most with me was wanting to be blessed. Now I have realized that by wanting to know God more, I will understand His plan more and ultimate be blessed for it.

49-28672_Wood_Plaque_Count_Your_Blessings

So lets get deep for a second. Have I truly revealed my deepest desire to God? Honestly? No. It makes me uncomfortable. I don’t even think I know what they are, or want to know. I’m sure at this stage in my life, my deepest desires are not what God wants me to desire.

I believe right now my greatest desire is to have a prosperous marriage with my husband. I, like so many others, come from a home with divorced parents. I don’t wish that on anyone. Moreover, I truly love him and want to do right by him and by God.

Money-is-the-Root-of-All-Evil_2577-l

The second one is a little embarrassing. Now, understand that the LOVE of money is the root of all evil (although I think it could be argued that money is the root itself). I strongly desire money. Not because I love it. But because we are in a position right now where we are squeezing our pennies in order to keep moving in the right direction. Living is expensive, especially if you desire to have a comfortable lifestyle.

I could sit around all day and talk about the things I don’t have. But what good does that do?! I have so many things that God has given me to use to show the world who He is and, like a father would want, make Him proud.

TODAY I will count my blessings.

The Message//Remix: Solo by Eugene H. Peterson

The Message//Remix: Solo by Eugene H. Peterson

Leave a Reply

